There’s no need to overanalyze

By Ed Odeven

After he won the 3-Point Contest, I read sharpshooter Stephen Curry’s interview comments posted online from the NBA’s All-Star Weekend in New York on Saturday.

His detailed response underscores his understanding of what works for him.

Curry was asked if he used statistics or analytics to improve his shooting.

“Not really,” he answered.

“Most of it is kind of‑‑ I look at shooting charts to know where my hot and cold spots are, but mostly it’s kind of just watching film and having a feel for the game. That’s kind of how I learned the game and what I’m comfortable with.

“I know the analytics there’s a lot of good things that go with it. But for me I don’t want to cloud my head as a player with too many stats and ideas and information that may slow me down on the court. It’s more just about having a feel for what I need to get better at. I know in the games if I’m going to my right‑‑ if I’m shooting terribly over the course of a season, there’s usually a reason for it and I have to work on it.

“So it’s kind of how I approach it. And it works for me. ”

Curry knows the game isn’t played on paper, reminding the press that execution on the court comes from practice, from repetition and from experience. He’s improved his shooting form … year after year after year by, well, shooting the basketball.

And that’s not a novel concept.

Leave a Reply

